The Electric Palace
In 1926 the local brewing family JC and RH Palmer, took the courageous and enterprising step to build an opera house in Bridport. A new venture in every way, but particularly because it was powered by electricity, a rare commodity for many at the time. Generating its own power, it enabled the people of Bridport to experience the wonder and glamour of a new age of cinema, as well as opera and other stage shows. Bridport is fortunate to have not only a cultural gem but an architectural one too. The building retains many of its original features in the Art Deco style and the centrepiece of the building is the collection of stunning ‘art deco’ murals painted by George Biles in 1936. The Electric Palace has been operating almost continually since 1926 with great success. It has recently undergone a extensive renovation retaining and enhancing the original features and improving the cinema technology, stage equipment and other facilities to bring it into the 21st century. The building is still owned by a local family and continues to provide first-class film and live entertainment for the people of Bridport, West Dorset and beyond.
Bridlit audiences love the atmosphere and all the comforts of the Electric Palace. It has a bar for refreshments and the delightful Electric Lounge next door provides scrumptious food.
35 South St, Bridport DT6 3NY / 01308 424 901 / www.electricpalace.org.uk